Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Meet the Panel

  • Panel Composition

    ​The three members of the Inspection Panel are appointed by the Board of Directors for non renewable terms of five years. As provided in the Resolution that established the Panel, members are selected on the basis of their ability to deal thoroughly and fairly with the requests brought to them, their integrity, their independence from World Bank management, and their exposure to development issues and to living conditions in developing countries.
    The Panel’s structure and operations further safeguard its independence. It is functionally independent of World Bank Management and reports solely to the Board of Directors. In addition, Panel members are prohibited from ever working for the Bank after their term end.
    Inspection Panel members, from left: Dr. Gonzalo Castro de la Mata, Eimi Watanabe (Chair), and Zeinab Bashir El Bakri.

 Panel Members

  • Eimi Watanabe

    Ms. Watanabe's term of office: November 1, 2009 - October 31, 2014 ...

  • Zeinab Bashir El Bakri

    Ms. El Bakri's term of office: September 1, 2012 - August 31, 2017 ...

  • Dr. Gonzalo Castro de la Mata

    Dr. de la Mata's term of office: December 16, 2013 - December 15, 2018 ...